Dancing with Courage: Embracing Fear as a Guide

Mental or moral strength to venture, persevere, and withstand danger, fear, or difficulty

Courage, from the Merriam-Webster Dictionary

We all feel fear.

Fear can be a powerful guide, but we need to interpret it properly.

Sometimes fear is a sign we have identified something dangerous and we need to proceed cautiously.

Sometimes fear arises simply because we are stretching into the unknown. What lies beyond our knowing is frightening simply because it is mysterious. There is the possibility of danger.

Reaching out of our comfort zone is uncomfortable.

I am building a new business. This is pushing me out of my comfort zone in almost every action that I take. I must face the fears that arise and work into and despite them.

For 2013, I have committed to deepening my writing, pushing myself to speak from the depths of myself, in both fiction and non-fiction. Writing fearward.

To keep moving forward, I will need courage.

Courage implies firmness of mind and will in the face of danger or extreme difficulty”

Merriam-Webster Dictionary distinguishing courage from related words.

Knowing that I am pushing into the unknown, I know that I am inviting fear. I can expect fear and resistance. To succeed, I will need to remain connected to the goal and firm in my commitments to keep moving forward. I must dance with my fears, become friends with them. I must work through or around my resistances.

My fears around my work must be my guide. If I am not feeling fear, I will know that I am allowing myself to stay in my comfort zone.

My business mentor says that fear is a sign that you are going in the right direction. I believe that is an over-generalization, but given how many ways I want to stretch myself in 2013, my fears will often arise when I am moving towards my goals.

I will need Courage.

Are you pushing yourself into new areas? How do you handle the fear that comes with moving into the unknown?

About Kate Arms-Roberts

www.katearmsroberts.com

Posted on December 29, 2012, in Creativity, Daily Life. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Amazing, Kate. You jump in with both feet, hands (including the virtual pen that wrote this) and whole self. You truly are an inspiration to me. Thanks.

    (BTW, I am really enjoying how you took on the idea of posting each of the last few days of 2012!)

    I understand what you mean about noticing fear when I’m doing my real work. In some ways, having my hair stand on end can be a best indicator that I’m “moving towards my goals”, too.

    Once I have the courage to face this, I then need to couple it with compassion or I can turn my life into terror. But that’s a whole post unto itself…

    Playful blessings,
    Stan

    • Kate Arms-Roberts

      Compassion is, as in so many things, key. We do need to be gentle with ourselves.
      Thank you for the reminder.
      Cheers,
      Kate

  1. Pingback: Dancing with Courage: Embracing Fear as a Guide | All About Coaching | Scoop.it

Leave a comment