Rethinking My Blog Themes

I’m playing around with themes for the blog. I have been unhappy with the old layout for some time, but haven’t had any inspiration about what I wanted instead.

I expect things will change around here several times before I settle on something new.

The purple picture is a photograph of water I manipulated using techniques Samira Emelie taught me. Samira is one of the stars of my Mixel community. She makes rich, textured images by layering transparencies. Often, each transparency is a different series of manipulations of a single image. Layering the transparencies creates a sense of depth.

This theme is Mystique. I like a lot of the default elements, but not all of them. I’m still thinking. For now, here is this change.

About Kate Arms-Roberts

www.katearmsroberts.com

Posted on July 26, 2012, in Blogging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I love the email subscription icon. How did you get that to work? I have heard from frustrated readers that they cannot find how to subscribe.

  2. Kate Arms-Roberts

    Sharon,
    I used the Follow Blog widget. On wordpress.com blogs, it is in the Appearance tab under Widgets. If you are using wordpress.org, you need to install the Jetpack plug in to get the widget.

  3. Maybe you won’t settle on one. πŸ™‚ I don’t know how hard it is to change though. Maybe you will want to settle on one for awhile. It reminds me of something but I can’t quite put my finger on it. I thought the marbling reminded me of those old smoky-colored studies/libraries but since it’s purple it would be an “inner study.” I was looking for a gemstone it resembled, saw Lithium Quartz, and thought how interesting.

    • Kate Arms-Roberts

      This is my third real redesign. Changing is a bit of a pain and I hate it when blogs I read change too much. That said, each time my work evolves, I feel justified in messing around for a week to find something that fits better.

  4. Hi – been here six days and on my fifth theme, I think. Very difficult. Sounds like it should be easy – pick a theme – but it isn’t. Nothing filled all my criteria: keep it simple, keep it looking simple but effective, layout usable by me, layout usable by others.
    Easy enough to change, not easy to put all the widgets where you want them to be.
    Best of luck with your changes.

    • Kate Arms-Roberts

      Thanks for the good wishes, Pat. I wish the same for you.
      I find it usually takes about a week for me to decide on a layout that I am willing to live with for a year or so.

  5. It reminds me of dyed parchment paper πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

