Getting The Work Out There

Ship often. Ship lousy stuff, but ship. Ship constantly.
Seth Godin

Today, I am thinking about shipping. Shipping is scary, but must be done.

I don't usually think of myself of a seamstress, but my kids love these "sock monsties" that I made them for Christmas.

When Seth Godin talks about shipping, he means getting your stuff out there into the world.

Shipping has always scared me. I have a tendency to assume that people will judge me by my work and that I will be deemed not up to snuff.

It’s always a little unnerving when people read my work and like it, even more so when it inspires them or they ask for more. There’s still a voice in my head doing the internal equivalent of looking over my shoulder to see if the person is talking to someone else, then looking back, pointing to myself and mouthing “Me?”

I am starting to realize that I how I feel is immaterial. The truth appears to be that I produce some words that some other people get something useful from. I think most of us do. Not always, but often enough that keeping our thoughts to ourselves is actually a disservice to the rest of the world.

If I have an idea that might help you, I do you a disservice by not sharing it with you. But, because I have no idea what of my material might resonate with you, I have to find ways to get most of my stuff out where people can find it.

It is the best way I know to be of service.

I have increased my rate of shipping recently. I am writing more for this blog; my fiction is out in the hands of readers for feedback; I am writing once a month on issues associated with giftedness for An Intense Life; and, I have been publishing improvised poems over at A More Playful Life.

All I can say is that the thrill of having people respond to my writing is intoxicating. The more I do, the more I want to do.

I don’t know where this is all leading, but it looks like it might be a wild ride.

Thanks for being a part of this journey.

About Kate Arms-Roberts

www.katearmsroberts.com

Posted on April 11, 2012, in Blogging, Creativity, This Writing Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Intoxicating is the perfect word for it. But I can totally relate to the fear of shipping. It’s so inspiring to hear how you’ve been taking risks to increase your rate of shipping. I wish good things for you. And I love the sock monsties!

  2. This is a great post. I’m thinking my recent blog photo inspired your sharing of those adorable sock monsties. Well, it turns out that this post has me mulling some things that I think I’m going to address in next Tuesday’s post. So thank you for the inspiration, Kate.

    • Kate Arms-Roberts

      Yes, indeed, your photo got me thinking about the sock monsties.

      I look forward to seeing what you have on tap for Tuesday.

  3. Funny how it can be scarier if someone actually wants to read MORE of our work! Oh no! They like it! Now what am going to do?

Leave a Reply

