Reflections on Daily Blogging

Well, I did it. Every day in March, something new appeared on this blog. It has been a fascinating experiment and I thank everybody who came along for the ride or found me in the middle of it. And, this is the end. Time now to reflect on the past month and make some decisions about how I want to proceed from here.

What have I learned?

  • My Muse is a busy woman.  Writing every day has made me pay closer attention to my sources of inspiration. And she has made me a font overflowing with ideas.
  • Writing for an audience every day is invigorating for me.
  • Breaking thematically related ideas into a series is better than trying to link them all into one complex post.
  • I get a thrill seeing my blog traffic numbers go up – and they have gone up hugely.
  • I get deep personal satisfaction from conversation with commenters.
  • It is not in my nature to write short, simple posts.
  • People read my work. And are moved by it. And seek it out.
  • Writing for this blog every day forces me to spend too much time blogging and not enough of my writing time on my fiction.
  • I have seen some patterns of topics and headline styles that seem to correlate with higher traffic.
  • Combining daily writing for myself and blogging every day has led me to writing about deeper and more personal issues.

What Now?

  • No more blogging on the weekends. My weekend writing time all goes back to my novel.
  • I do plan to write A-Z improvisational poems about InterPlay for  A More Playful Life. However, I am hereby giving myself permission to spread the posting of such poems over 2-3 months. I will be done before the kids are out of school for the summer.
  • In April, I plan to post to this blog on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. We will see how that goes.

I want to thank the folks who put together NaBloPoMo for the inspiration.

For now, I am off to enjoy the rest of my weekend without blogging.

Cheers,

Kate

About Kate Arms-Roberts

www.katearmsroberts.com

Posted on March 30, 2012, in Blogging, Creativity, Daily Life, This Writing Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Patricia Morris

    Congrats on completing the challenge.

  2. Kate, fantastic work on blogging every day. I’m lucky to be one of the recipients of the fruits of your labor of love. Although I didn’t have time to come read every day, the inspiration I got from it was noticeable, at times, profound.

    I, too, enjoyed the conversations I had with you in the comments section and found myself eager to peek back and see if you had replied. (And sometimes I read the post but didn’t leave a comment.)

    I loved reading about what you learned.

    • Kate Arms-Roberts

      Milli,
      Thank you for coming on this journey with me. I am sure our conversations will continue. 🙂

      Cheers,
      Kate

  3. Congratulations on completing the challenge! I may not have commented much, but I did follow along most days. I have had a hard time getting posts accomplished lately myself and reading this post makes me think that maybe trying a post a day for a while might stir some creative juices!

    • Kate Arms-Roberts

      I definitely found a creative power in having committed to posting every day. There were a few days when I sat down at the computer not knowing what I was going to write, but mostly, I had been having ideas all through the previous day.
      And the couple of times the alarm went off in the morning and I thought I would stay in bed instead of getting up and writing, I couldn’t get back to sleep because of the voice inside my head telling me to get up and write.

  4. What patterns of topics and headline styles correlate with higher traffic for you? Your post titles didn’t strike me as being different in the past month.

    • Kate Arms-Roberts

      It was interesting. When the headline is more explicitly about the craft of writing, I get more action via writing circles on Twitter.
      When I write about gifted issues explicitly, I get a lot of extra action through a couple of FB and Twitter communities.
      And, there are few people who publicize some of my work that I can predict quite closely which posts will attract their attention.
      Also, there is very little correlation between the posts that get more traffic and the posts that get more comments.

      • I notice similar correlations with circles of interest. At first I thought my general interest posts about pop songs and English usage would be more popular than the highly technical ones about computer programming and mathematics, but opposite is true. Presumably because there’s way more competition for the former, whereas for the later I can stake out areas of expertise. I could see gifted issues being that for you.

        • Kate Arms-Roberts

          You interpret the data the same way I do.
          I really love the conversations I have on this blog about creativity and writing, so I think I need to find a new forum for writing about gifted issues because they don’t combine easily.

          • I toyed with the idea of splitting CornerCases up into two blogs, one for “software development” and one for “everything else”, but I decided I like to keep things all jumbled together. Juxtaposition is its own reward.

            • Kate Arms-Roberts

              I may just start looking for other avenues to write the more analytical pieces about gifted issues and keep personal stories here. Who knows. Maybe I’m too busy to change things up.

Leave a Reply

