Dare to Be Yourself

This is the beginning of a series examining the power of truth-telling in life and art.

“We have to dare to be ourselves, however frightening or strange that self may prove to be.”

May Sarton

Do you hide parts of yourself, locking them up inside away from the world?

Do you keep them hidden out of fear, out of a sense that they are nobody’s business but your own, out of shame, or because you don’t even see them?

What would it be like to share them?

I have been explicitly thinking about the things we don’t talk about ever since seeing the title of Azar Nafisi’s second memoir, Things I’ve Been Silent About: Memories.

There is a power in claiming our experience as true and sharing it. Not only for ourselves, but for each other.

Parker Palmer, in his article Now I Become Myself, excerpted from his book Let Your Life Speak, wrote, “It is a strange gift, this birthright gift of self. Accepting it turns out to be even more demanding than attempting to become someone else.” He goes on to point out that, “In families, schools, workplaces, and religious communities, we are trained away from true self toward images of acceptability; under social pressures like racism and sexism our original shape is deformed beyond recognition; and we ourselves, driven by fear, too often betray true self to gain the approval of others.”

One of the ways we betray ourselves is by keeping silent about our experiences.

And, one of the ways that we redeem ourselves is by bringing those secrets into the light.

If we dare to be ourselves, we set ourselves up for our own mental health. But more than that, by revealing our weaknesses and our struggles, we allow other people to see our humanity, to be touched by our stories, and to take healing power from our stories.

In this series, I will be reflecting on both the things that I have kept silent about and on the relationship between truth-telling and art. I hope you will join me.

About Kate Arms-Roberts

www.katearmsroberts.com

Posted on March 26, 2012, in Creativity, Education, Social Justice, This Writing Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I love the topic Kate. It’s something I have wrestled with a lot. 🙂

    • Kate Arms-Roberts

      Thanks, Tom. I admire how you speak out publicly about your experiences. It is people like you who help me find my own courage to speak out.

  2. My family was always very private, reserved, and hush-hush. The attitude was always, “this doesn’t leave the dinner table.” So even when I’m writing stories or personal essays about something completely lighthearted that no one would mind me sharing — or at least, I don’t *think* they would — I have a hard time getting over that self-constructed wall between the family and the outside world.

  1. Pingback: Normal vs. Happy « Kate Arms-Roberts

Leave a Reply

