Improv v. First Draft

For the A to Z Blogging challenge over at A More Playful Life, I have a plan and a decision to make.

Within two days of signing up for the challenge, I had titles for all 26 posts: all related to InterPlay practices and principles or concepts that I connected to through InterPlay. But, I ended up moving instead of writing the actual posts, so now I have a long list of titles and a head full of ideas.

I don’t have time to write thoughtful posts for all 26 days. My novel is too important.

On the other hand, I have been wanting to articulate InterPlay in my own words for years. I have started doing that on this blog and in other places, but I still feel there is a lot to do.

So, I have decided to write poetry about the topics: short pieces of the “A is for Affirm, B is for Body Wisdom…” variety in the style of an ABC primer.

In order to get them up rapidly, and in the spirit of InterPlay, my thought is to write them improvisationally and not revise.

But, the idea of having written words in a public forum that I have not revised freaks me out a bit. One of the beauties of improvised spoken words is that they disappear on speaking.

So, I am debating whether I should let the improvised texts sit out on the website unrevised or plan on revising them.

What do you think?

Posted on March 22, 2012, in Creativity, Interplay, Play, This Writing Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi Kate! We have a mutual Twitterer (Patrick Ross) and so I thought I’d check out your website. I think the thoughts you bring up in this post is something I think about a lot as well. I don’t think I have a great answer for you, but the way I go about blogging is to write my posts as best I can, but know that if I want to develop an idea further (say, for publication), then I have it written so I can come back to it. I’ve had a few essays published that started out as blog posts. While the “theme” of the essays stayed the same, the pieces took on different tones, brought up different ideas, etc. Personally, I think it’s best to get the ideas written down with the understanding you can go back to them later.
    Hope this comment was helpful and not annoying. šŸ™‚ Good to “meet” you.
    -Callie

  2. Callie,

    Thanks for stopping by. Patrick is a great connector.

    It’s that thing about writing blog posts the best I can that has me stymied. The best I can in the time I have for April is the improvisational approach. If I’m not happy with that being out there, I don’t have time for the challenge.

  1. Pingback: The Things We Are Afraid to Write About « Kate Arms-Roberts

Leave a Reply

