Returning to My Literary Roots, Part I

I’m at my parents’ house for a few days. The books of my childhood surround me. Browsing the shelves, deciding which books to bring to my children’s attention, I am deep in my own literary memories.

Yesterday, I found this book.


I don’t remember anything about the story, but I remember a creative project inspired by it, or at least by the cover. I had forgotten this book was the inspiration until I saw it again. But, the project itself is one of those half-finished projects from my past that still haunts me.

For class (fourth grade, Mrs. Voake, one of my most inspirational teachers), I made a map of an island country, Gingericana, where every geographic feature was named after a spice. In my imagination, stories about the peoples of this land were writing themselves, but I never made time to get them down on paper. Over the past few years, I have considered revisiting this world to write stories for my children.

I don’t know if I will.

In the meantime, however, I plan to reread the book. I am curious to see whether I recognize the story within the cover.

About Kate Arms-Roberts

www.katearmsroberts.com

Posted on March 15, 2012, in Creativity, Education, Parenting, This Writing Life, What is Kate reading? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. One wonders with ebooks, whether our children will be able to show their children their favorite books. Will ebooks increase or decrease the longevity of those childhood treasures?

  2. I love the idea of an island country where every geographic feature is named after a spice! Sounds like a story I’d enjoy reading to my grandson.

  3. I just wrote my most honest and searing blog post ever for the Fear of Writing blog. It’s because I’m opening up to an area of my writing I had given up on for eight long years.

    There were several nudges and influences that brought me to that point today, and I wanted to let you know that you were an influence. This post right here, and your fourth grade story about Gingericana.

    (I think Part III of this series factored in as well. I read that rapidly in my email this morning just as I was on the cusp of my own breakthrough.)

    Thank you, Kate.

    • Kate Arms-Roberts

      Wow. Good for you.
      I’m thinking of the adage, “when the student is ready the teacher will come.” I think it is wrong. I believe all the lessons we have to learn are right in front of us most of the time, and when we are ready, we understand them when we see them. But, I am happy to have had my words in the right place at a time you found meaning in them.
      Your comment about Part III reminded me that we never know what impact our words will have. I worried about that post when I sent it out, as I wasn’t sure I had actually said anything worth reading.

  1. Pingback: Returning to My Literary Roots, Part IV « Kate Arms-Roberts

  2. Pingback: Returning to My Literary Roots, Part III « Kate Arms-Roberts

  3. Pingback: Maintaining Momentum « Kate Arms-Roberts

  4. Pingback: Kate Arms-Roberts » Returning to My Literary Roots, Part IV

Leave a Reply

