Do You Notice the Good Stuff?

Human beings are wired to notice the bad stuff in life. In fact, we are so good at noticing the bad stuff that we sometimes miss the good stuff.

And, most of the time, there are good things and bad things going on at the same time. By choosing to notice and affirm the good things, we can train our brains to bring those things to awareness rather than letting them slip past unnoticed.

Stop and Smell the Flowers

The Big Bad Wolf won't get you for looking at the flowers. It's straying off the path without noticing the big teeth that gets you.

This morning, the kids were late for school. It was the first day that was cold enough for hats and gloves, and the kids decided they needed scarves, too. Eventually, one was ready and I went outside to encourage him into the car. In a moment of inspiration, I realized I had time to snap a photo of him because we were still waiting for the child inside. But, my intended model was my camera-shy child and I was not sneaky enough.

So, I ended up with this:

And the child is...where?

The beauty of the morning sunbeams caught by my camera took my breath away for a moment. I looked up and noticed this:

Good Morning, Sunshine!!!

And, we were still late for school, but I was less stressed.

And that, my friends, is the power of noticing the good stuff.

Do you notice the good stuff? Or does the rough stuff get in the way?

About Kate Arms-Roberts

www.katearmsroberts.com

Posted on November 19, 2011, in Daily Life, Interplay and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. A beautiful post, Kate. I think we’re all guilty of overlooking the beauty around us as we absorb ourselves in the minutae of the moment. I read Matthiessen’s The Snow Leopard this summer. He had moments of true awareness of beauty, but he had to hike Nepal to do so. He also learned to forgive himself for not always being able to be in the moment. To me, beating myself up for not appreciating the good things is almost worse than the fact that I’m missing them in the first place.

  2. That lesson on self-forgiveness is a big one. It is important to be gentle with ourselves. Maybe, we could choose to celebrate the moments we forgive ourselves for our human failings. Then, we might see our own self-forgiveness as part of the “good stuff”, part of the compassion in the world.

    Easier said than done, I know.

  3. Yes to noticing the good stuff
    a discipline and a privilege
    Thank you for sharing through your words and camera

  1. Pingback: Facing the Blank Page, With Improvisation « Kate Arms-Roberts

  2. Pingback: Grappling With Gratitude « An Intense Life

Leave a Reply

