30 Days of Creativity: Day 1

Yesterday, I wrote about my life exploding in May and taking time from my writing.  Today, I was reminded that June is the month for the 30 Days of Creativity challenge, which means today is day 1. It struck me that this is a perfect excuse for me to get myself back into a more creative routine. The 30 Days of Creativity challenge is simple: create something every day for 30 days.

It would be best for my writing habits to commit to writing every day. It would also be great for my homeschooling to create arts and crafts with the kids. But, I am in desperate need of unnecessary creativity, so I have decided just to commit to creating something everyday in June. I know from past experience that creating things without a purpose frees up my willingness to create the things I must make even when I am feeling overwhelmed.

Plus, it would be fun to dig out my pastels and paints. And I could use some fun. So, in the spirit of play, I am digging out my creative toys and seeing what happens. I dedicate the next 30 days to unnecessary creation.

I find the 30 days of Creativity website overwhelming, so I am not sure that I will be posting my work in the collective space or engaging with the community, but I look forward to sharing some of what I make here.

Today, to keep it simple, I just made colour blocks with chalk pastels.

About Kate Arms-Roberts

www.katearmsroberts.com

Posted on June 1, 2011, in Daily Life, Interplay, This Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

