The New Year’s Resolution I Didn’t Make

I didn’t make New Year’s Resolutions this year. I discussed why in this post.

In particular, I didn’t make any resolutions about losing the last of the weight I gained during my last pregnancy. I gained the recommended 50-60 pounds for triplet pregnancies. Then, I was busy caring for young triplets and their older sibling. Exercise and healthy eating were vague notions rather than practices. And about 15 pounds stuck around.

Last year, I wanted to lose the weight but couldn’t do it. And it made me miserable. I wanted to be happier and if I wasn’t going to be thinner, I wanted my happiness not to depend on my size. So, this year, I let it go. I turned to InterPlay’s tools of Easy Focus to help me let go of my harsh focus on the number on the scale.

With Easy Focus, we open our perspective beyond a narrow, harsh, driven focus on specifics and allow ourselves to notice with our peripheral vision. As a physical cue to make this change in our bodies, we pretend to grab the tension from between our eyes, with one hand touching our foreheads, and then fling that imaginary tension out into the air while saying “Wheeee!” If it sounds silly, that’s because it is.  And that’s part of the point.  Easy Focus has a sense of humour.

Another Easy Focus technique is to imagine an issue or problem floating around in the air rather than sitting on our shoulders. It is a practice that invites the universe to hold to problem for us, rather like the idea that one can “let go and let God,” a way of acknowledging a burden without being weighed down by it. It is an imaginative practice, but it can have the physical effect of letting an individual body relax.

I let go of goals about my weight. Just let them float into the air around me.

Life is funny.

My husband tinkers with the way he eats. A few months ago, he announced he was going to try the Paleo diet. The theory is that human culture has evolved faster than human bodies and that our bodies have not evolved beyond eating a diet of foods that could be hunted or gathered. Legumes, grains, and dairy are regarded as non-food.  I was skeptical, but I watched as he ate that way for a few weeks.

He lost weight. He looked better. He felt better.

So I figured I would play with it and see. I noticed the  information my body gave me: how I felt, what foods I craved, how much I enjoyed eating, and how my weight shifted. I notices some interesting things. In my body, grains and dairy create cravings. If I don’t eat them, I don’t crave them.  But, if I have a little, my body wants more. Snacking on crunchy vegetables is satisfying when I don’t have the grain and dairy cravings.

And, my weight is very sensitive to grains and dairy.  Without any sense of deprivation, my body started shedding weight when I ate this way.  A week of sliding a little pushed the weight right back up and I felt sluggish and grumpy. And that negative change reversed quickly when I went back to eating fruit, vegetables, meat and nuts.

In InterPlay, we call the signals we get from our body ‘Body Data’, our accumulated knowledge about our bodies ‘Body Knowledge’ and our ability to use Body Knowledge to make good choices for our bodies ‘Body Wisdom’.

Your Body Data is different from mine. What your body wants may not be what my body wants.  But, I have discovered how my body wants to be fed. I found new Body Wisdom.

And I did it playfully.  With curiosity and interest.  No pressure.  Just a new practice and observation.

About Kate Arms-Roberts

www.katearmsroberts.com

Posted on May 12, 2011, in Daily Life, Interplay. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congrats on finding a way to approach your goal after using InterPlay to free yourself from its capture.

    I think you’ve mentioned this diet to me before. Very intriguing, I’ll admit. In February I went back on the South Beach Diet, the only one I ever had much luck with and the only one I was able to maintain for some time (several years, in fact). I gained a lot of weight in my last job as I discovered I’m a stress eater, but even with the stresses that now come from self-employment, I’ve been able to curb my bad habits and have lost almost all the weight I gained in that last job.

    • Kate Arms-Roberts

      I am honestly stunned that I have lost the weight. I really didn’t try to.
      And, I truly believe that every body needs to figure out what works for their body. South Beach was good for my body, but left me with cravings. I couldn’t keep it up after I met my initial weight loss goal.
      As another stress eater, I have learned that if my self-imposed food restrictions add to my stress levels, I am doomed.

Leave a Reply

