A Simple Gift

Yesterday, we had our first real snow of the season and it was still snowing as we went to bed. My husband and I decided to shovel in the morning rather than in the evening because more accumulation was expected overnight.

I woke early this morning to shovel. I left the house through the garage. When I opened the garage door, I saw a beautiful morning. Soft light filtered through clouds onto unblemished, powdered snow. At least 4 inches of fluffy, white stuff sat on the cars in the drive.

As I reached the edge of the garage, I gasped. The driveway itself had no more than a light dusting of snow on it.

I stepped into the silence of the early morning and looked around. Every driveway on my block had been cleared by snow-blowers. And it wasn′t just the driveways. One of my neighbours had cleared every driveway, every path to a doorway, and every sidewalk.

And, now at the end of the day, I am still smiling. The world is a wonderful place with such generosity in it. And, I am grateful.

I think I know who was responsible, but part of the magic is not knowing.

A little winter holiday wonder for the grown-ups.

About Kate Arms-Roberts

www.katearmsroberts.com

Posted on December 7, 2010, in Daily Life. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the gigantic smile, Kate. This is a beautiful story. And it did not take lots of words. Just the right words — which are the ones you chose.

    Blessings,
    Stan

  2. Kate Arms-Roberts

    I’m glad I could share the smile. It still makes me smile thinking about it.

    Kate

  1. Pingback: Poem 0040 for Anita – chimes » Mandala Design Works

  2. Pingback: Poem 0040 for Anita - chimes - muz4now

Leave a Reply

